RSS Feed

Not Why, But What

Posted on

You all know what I’m talking about.  That moment, when we’re at our wit’s end over fill-in-the-blank, and all we can think is “Why?  Why, Lord?  Why do I have to deal with this?”  We (or at least I) mope and frown, wishing whatever I’m dealing with would just pass.  Please?  I mean really, what did I do to cause this?

This is exactly where I am with some tummy troubles I’ve been experiencing recently.  The discomfort has lasted much longer than normal, and I just want it to leave me alone.  I ask the Lord “Why?”  Two things come to mind:

1. In my last post, I mentioned that I’d been experiencing a dry time – a time of feeling far from the Lord.  In this time of tummy discomfort, I’ve done a lot of crying out to Him.  And our lives are to be about growing closer to the Lord, yes?

2. Inspired by my pastor’s wife, I’m beginning to see the questions “why?” and “what?” on two very different levels.  Rather than simply asking God why we’re dealing with something, we should ask God “What?  What do you have for me in this time?”  It’s kind of a “pick yourself up, dust yourself off, and start all over again” type of humility.  Kind of telling the Lord, “Well, I know you have a reason, so what am I to do or learn?”

Asking God “What?” allows us to be peaceful, and rest in the promise of Isaiah 30:21:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you, saying, “This is the way; walk in it.”

I’m faced with this challenge today – to ask God “What?” instead of “Why?”  Will you do the same?

Blessings,

Beth

One response »

  1. Well written,as usual, with thought and wisdom. love you sweetie. Mom

    Reply

Leave a Reply

