RSS Feed

Not By My Strength

Tomorrow is the big day!  At early o’clock, I will be hopping on a plane to go train for my new job.  I wouldn’t say I’m a nervous wreck, but my brain will NOT quit racing!  One moment it’s “Yay, I’m so excited, this will be awesome!”…the next moment, “Oh my gosh, can I actually do this?  Am I cut out for it?  And I won’t get to see my hubby for a whole ten days!”  Yeah.

Naturally, those nervous, “can I do this?” thoughts tend to overshadow the excited thoughts.  And I get stuck there, wondering if I will succeed in this new job, or if I will just embarrass myself.  This is a huge transition.  It feels like I’m stepping off of the well-worn road I know so well to a brand-new, unfamiliar place.  My personality likes the predictable.  And this is not predictable.
The other night before bed, I opened my Bible to read Philippians 4:13 – “I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength”
I took a look at verse 12 – context, ya know?  It says, ” I know what is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty.  I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.” 
In that moment, the Lord reminded me that no matter my situation – whether I’m comfortable or uncomfortable, confident or discouraged, in familiar territory or in a new place – no matter what – He will provide the strength I need for the situation.
Philippians 4 13
A concept I’ve heard many times?  Yes.  A good reminder?  YES!
So that thing you’re facing that seems impossible?  That situation that makes you hyperventilate to just think about?  You can’t do it on your own strength – but you CAN do it on God’s.
Blessings,
Beth
Leave a Reply

