RSS Feed

Burned

I’m sure it’s happened to you at some point in life: you follow your conscience, do what you believe is right, only to have it turn around and bite you. You’ve been burned. The first time it happens? Eh, we can deal with it. The second time? At least for me, it causes me to be leery to work to do good to others. If you are burned while lighting a match, do you eagerly light the next one?

The other day, I was feeling exceptionally burned. My attempts to be kind and compassionate to people had backfired – two separate times. I was about ready to just give up…to quit trying to do good to others.

But then, out of nowhere, this voice whispered into my heart “Never tire of doing good”. Uh…what?

I hopped on to google to find the reference for the verse so I could actually read it.

“And as for you, brothers and sisters, never tire of doing what is good.” (2 Thessalonians, 3:13)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In the verses before this, Paul writes about how he has heard that some of the believers in the area had become idle and essentially, weren’t contributing. Paul urges the readers to keep doing good – and to not stop, no matter how tired.  I felt so encouraged after reading this passage.

So I got burned.  Does that mean I should stop sharing the love of Jesus through my actions.  Not hardly.  I think it’s these moments that shape us into who we’re supposed to be.

My goal this week?  To keep doing good (to people).  Regardless.

Blessings,

Beth

One response »

  1. Whoops, missed this blog post! You are so right. We cannot let a few bad experiences keep us from continuing to share the love of Jesus. love you, Mom

    Reply

Leave a Reply

