RSS Feed

Moving Forward

One thing that’s easy to forget about? Sometimes, there is ice utterly hidden under a soft, innocent-looking blanket of snow. I happened to find one of these places the other day. It went like this: step, step, wobble, slip, wobble, THUNK. I landed on the pointiest part of my hip, and boy oh boy. Ouch.

So why on earth am I telling you this story? There are two reasons:

1. So that you know that you’re not the only one who falls on hidden ice (unless I’M the only one…)
2. While laying in bed that night, a thought-provoking idea came to mind.

And I had to share.

For those of you who know me or have read any of my other blogs (most recently, here) you know that I’ve fought, and somewhat overcome Anorexia.  I say “somewhat overcome” because I still fight it, or at least parts of it – and here is where the rubber meets the road with my little story.

So I’m laying in bed, purposefully on my left side, so as not to cause unnecessary pain.  I feel sleepy, but a thought jolts me back awake.  This pain I feel in my hip, laying here in bed, isn’t much different than the pain I felt in my hips during my worst days of Anorexia.  I remembered the nights of finding just the right position to sleep in that wouldn’t be uncomfortable to my ill-padded hip bones.

To be perfectly honest, I’ve been struggling more with my body and accepting it as it is.  Some of those ED (Eating Disorder) thoughts have surfaced. I try to push them back down to where I laid them to rest nearly two years ago.  But they can be like dandelions – until every last bit of the root is gone, it keeps growing back.  Yuck.

The good news?  God always brings to mind bits and pieces of his word to encourage me.  1 Peter 1:14-15 came to mind:

“Like obedient children, do not be conformed to the desires that you formerly had in ignorance.  Instead, as he who called you is holy, be holy yourselves in all your conduct”

In this passage, Peter encourages the reader to be prepared for the time that Christ is revealed by not returning to their old, “ignorant” ways of living.  We can all relate to this – regardless of the age we became a believer, there was a time in our life when we had to intentionally choose God.  There is an old way that we turned from.

1 peter 1 14

Have you slipped back to some of those old ways?  Mull that over.  And know that God is the only one who can pull you from that pit.

Blessings, and a Happy New Year!

Beth

2 responses »

  1. Such an appropriate and necessary reminder for us all as we leave 2013 and enter the new year! You’ve hit the nail on the head again. Love you bunches. ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

